The Day I Went Missing – for 5 year old Jenson Lorey

The day I went missing mum and dad went mad. They screamed and shouted. Mum wept. They looked everywhere. My sister even looked in the fridge.

The day I went missing the neighbours hadn’t seen me at all, even Mrs Barrett who spends her day looking out of her window like our street is the best TV programme.

The day I went missing grandad asked if they’d looked in the garden. Dad called him daft, it was the first place they looked.

The day I went missing the police were called. Inspector Thomas asked mum and dad lots of questions. He didn’t have a cup of tea.

The day I went missing sniffer dogs searched all around our house and two policemen searched inside. A helicopter circled overhead.

The day I went missing people I didn’t even know helped search for me. Bus drivers and taxi drivers used their radios. It must have been exciting.

The day I went missing my sister got tired of searching, she turned on the TV and sat down on the big red bean-bag.

The day I went missing I squealed, my sister yelped, my mum screamed and grabbed me and wouldn’t let me go. You were asleep, my dad said.

The day I went missing was the worst day of mum’s life. My sister said it was alright ‘cos people gave her lots of sweets. My dad didn’t want to talk about it.

Inspector Thomas rolled his eyes and said he was just happy the boy had been found on the day I went missing.

Jenson Lorey’s story on the BBC

Leave a Reply

