Talking in Catch-Phrases

I have found myself re-gurgitating catch-phrases alot recently.  In teaching and parenting I use alot of the same tried and tested phrases that generations before have used to good and bad effect.

With my son I might warn him, ‘Don’t bite your nails or you’ll rattle,’ or equally, ‘Don’t pick your nose, your finger might get stuck.’  I entreat him with, ‘Just one more mouthful,’ and ‘If you don’t eat your dinner then you can’t have sweets.’  I cajoul with ‘The quicker you go to sleep, the quicker morning will come,’ and ‘If you want to go to the park, you need to get your coat on, quick!’

In teaching I fall back on the trusty, ‘Sit down, the bell is for me, not for you,’ and old faithful, ‘If you keep up this noise, I will need to take one minute off your play-time.’  Oh, I hate myself for using that one and the many more I have up my sleave.

I trully hope that I’m not writing in catch-phrase.  Unless I’m writing teachers . . . or parents . . . hang-on, this might be useful.

Leave a Reply

