Finished manuscript?

In the wee hours of the morning I was not asleep, as I should have been, I was busy polishing up the manuscript of Too Much Trouble.

Due to be released in June 2011, by Janetta Otter-Barry books for Frances Lincoln Books, my lovely editor had asked for an edited manuscript by mid August.  I was very keen to get it done a little earlier than that though, partly so that I have time to carry out any further changes that might be suggested, but mostly so that I can focus on my next novel.  Thus I was up very late, while the rest of my family slept.  (Fortunately, my wonderful wife let me lie on this morning!)

I am now very nervous about what my editor will think of the changes.  Chapters have been split up, sections have been moved and re-arranged, characters have been tightened up and whole new bits have been written.  Nerve wracking stuff.  I’m very happy with it, I think it works, but will my editor agree.

Importantly, I think the story flows alot better in the second half and the ending is alot more hopeful.  It was almost comical how many people had really enjoyed the first half but thught the second half needed ‘tightening’.  (A polite way of saying ‘SORT IT OUT!’)

The contract is nearly in place too, which has been a steep learning curve.  I am very keen to get an agent at some point but Frances Lincoln are such a lovely publishers, I don’t need to worry yet.

On a completely un-related note, my wife said I need to write about what’s annoyed me today.  I guess that she thinks I need to get it off my chest. 

No. 1, neither Tescos or Morrisons have smoked paprika at the moment!  How am I meant to cook a decent chilli or make barbecue sauce?  You answer me that Mr Tesco!

No. 2, Morrisons, Holloway, self-checkout are absolutely useless!  The machine called for assistance so many times, it was not quicker for us and certainly didn’t save anyone any work.

Phew, that feels better.

P.S.  Watch this space.  I should be seeing some cover ideas soon!

Leave a Reply

